My Doll Muffie

December 8, 2009

When I was 8 years old, my father gave me Muffie–a Nancy Ann doll with an amazing wardrobe. Among her many outfits were a yellow velveteen coat with white fur trim replete with matching fur muff and fur-trimmed bonnet; a white drum majorette dress trimmed with red and gold threads on the cuffs and hem accompanied with a tall gold hat adorned with a red feather in front and matching gold boots; and a red plastic raincoat with a hood, snaps for buttons, and a matching red plastic tie belt.

Muffie was my favorite doll. I loved her. I loved her clothes. I loved dressing her up in her clothes. She was the best! I had other dolls, too–Ginger with platinum blond hair and Ken (not Barbie’s boyfriend) with red hair–but no other doll could match Muffie.

Well, in time, I grew up. I didn’t play with dolls anymore. So, Muffie and all her finery along with Ken went into a box. Ginger went to a cause for needy children. That box stayed with my mother for many years until I set up my own home. Then it came to me.

For 30 years it sat in my closet. Only a couple of months ago, spurred by my own Clutter Clearing Circle, when I asked folks to bring a piece of clutter they couldn’t release, did I bring Muffie out of the box! Wow! Her clothes were just as spectacular as I remembered them. Each outfit was carefully protected in its own box.

So, why, you are probably asking, am I still holding on to Muffie? It’s been 50 years since I last played with her, and I am not a doll collector. Well, here’s the rub! My father gave me Muffie, her friends Ginger and Ken, and all the outfits. Shortly thereafter, my father died. These were the last tangible gifts that I remember him giving me.

I’ve been holding on to a belief that if I keep Muffie et al., I’ll stay connected to my father. She is the proof that he loved me. But how true is that belief? If I examine it squarely, its validity seems shaky. Don’t I carry his love with me at all times?

I am in the midst of letting go of Muffie and her entourage of Ken and the wardrobe. I need to appreciate her and her outfits just a little longer. When I am ready, which will be soon, I will find the right doll collector, so that Muffie can be appreciated and enjoyed. Enough of sitting in a dark box with no one to play with!

Perhaps you can relate to this story. Are you holding on to an item that someone you cared about gave you? Are you using it or enjoying it or are you holding on to it just because that person gave it to you? Ask yourself what that item represents? Can you hold the feelings without holding on to the item? If you can, then let it go. Why? Because it’s clutter!

2 Responses to “My Doll Muffie”

  1. ShamWow Says:

    Love this article!! I could not of of said it any better on my own


Leave a Reply

