Essential Oils and Clutter Clearing: An Introduction

September 27, 2010

For the past 12 years I have been using therapeutic-grade essential oils for every aspect of my life—physical, mental, emotional and spiritual.  When I launched ALIGN, A Unique and Integrative Approach to Clutter and Balance, in 2006, I had been using the oils for eight years.  I knew they could be an important component to my helping clients clear their clutter.  

This blog and the next two will address essential oils and how I came to use them in my clutter-clearing work.  Because essential oils are a foreign concept to many, I will spend time in this first blog introducing them—albeit ever so briefly—and describing how I started to apply them to ensure my own well-being.  The second blog focuses on particular oil blends I use in my work and why they are helpful to clients and their de-cluttering process, while the third suggests oils clients might use after they have cleared their clutter.  

Ah, Yes, Aromatherapy!

You might be saying, “Ah, yes, aromatherapy,” and thinking, “What a silly idea!”  I want to dissuade you of this notion and reverse your thinking.  Aromatherapy is a healing modality.  Depending on which oils you use, you can spur your creativity, soothe your anxiety, strengthen your intuition, uproot traumas, and much more.  Substantial scientific research underscores their validity. 

A Little Background

When we smell an aroma, it bypasses the central nervous system and areas of the brain that control reasoning.  Instead, the aroma goes straight to the limbic system, our brain’s emotional center.  Some essential oils can cause such an increase in brain oxygen that they lead to a heightened activity in the hypothalamus and limbic system.  This can have dramatic effects on our emotions, learning, and attitude, but also on many physical processes of the body, such as immune function, hormone balance and energy levels, none of which is controlled by will or reason.

Essential oils can be used in many ways:  Inhalation, direct application on the body, internal and oral use as a dietary supplement, diffusing in the air, as well as cooking and cleaning.  Please educate yourself before using them.  Some can be applied directly to the skin, while others are quite strong and can burn your skin if you don’t apply with them with a mixing oil.  For the purposes of this blog, I will focus on diffusing oils.  

To diffuse oils you need a diffuser.  Unlike aroma lamps or candles, a diffuser disperses essential oils without heating or burning, which can render the oils therapeutically less beneficial and even create toxic compounds.  A cold-air diffuser disperses a fine mist of essential oils into the air, where they can remain suspended for several hours. 

Why I Started Diffusing Essential Oils

Six years ago, after being “laid off” from a job, I had to grieve my job loss and launch my job search.  Bombarded by “what ifs,” I needed to conserve my energy for writing résumés and job interviews.   I had struggled with depression in the past, and this situation could have triggered it again. 

By this time I had been using Young Living Essential Oils (YLEO) for awhile, but rather haphazardly.  My best friend had introduced them to me years ago and assured me they could help me in many ways.  YLEO are pure, therapeutic-grade oils free from contaminants like heavy metals and synthetic extenders. 

In order to keep myself on an even keel, I started diffusing essential oils near my computer, where I sent job queries and résumés to prospective employers.  I gravitated toward Young Living’s wonderful oil blends, proprietary mixtures of several single oils.  Blends called “Motivation,” “Into the Future,” and “Inspiration” caught my attention.

The Blends I Used

“Motivation” seemed the perfect tonic for my unemployed blues. Comprised of Roman Chamomile, Spruce, Ylang Ylang and Lavender, this blend stimulates feelings of action and accomplishment.  I couldn’t just watch the soaps and eat bonbons; I had to jump on the job-search trail.   Designed to overcome feelings of fear and procrastination, it did just that.  Even though my wound from being laid off was still fresh, I could appreciate the relief of no longer going to a job I didn’t enjoy and begin the process of sending out résumés.

The idea of being a bag lady could have loomed heavily in my mind and prevented me from stepping forward.   Without a job I felt muddled as to where to go next.  In need of confidence and a dose of faith, I chose the blend “Into the Future” because it was designed to help leave the past behind and birth excitement and a vision for what lies ahead. Two of the seven oils it comprised were Frankincense and Jasmine. Frankincense helps overcome stress and despair. Jasmine stimulates the mind, unlocks past blocks and can produce a feeling of confidence.    

The third blend, “Inspiration,” seemed the perfect complement to the other two.  It appealed to my spiritual bent.  The Essential Oils Desk Reference, a great resource for those wanting to know more, describes its effect—it creates “a feeling of being wrapped in a cocoon of spiritual quietness.”  In addition to Frankincense, which also increases spiritual awareness, it contains several oils, including Cedarwood, Sandalwood, and Rosewood.  I knew if I wrapped myself in spiritual quietness, I would get a clearer picture of what my next step would be.  “Inspiration” calmed my anxiety around joblessness and allowed me to listen to my heart.    

The End of This Story’s Chapter

After seven months of job-hunting, I was informed that my unemployment compensation had ended.  No future job was in sight.  I hightailed it to the Unemployment Office, thinking I could get an extension.  “No extensions!” I was told.  Dazed and not knowing what to do next, I returned home to work on Plan B. 

Within days three people approached me independently to organize their papers.  I never spiraled into deep depression as I had feared.  I didn’t end up as a bag lady on the street.  Initially unaware, I had just launched a new career as an organizer and de-clutterer.  Throughout the months of being untethered, essential oils had kept me grounded, motivated and spiritually connected.  I was and still am forever grateful.

Young Living Essential Oils are available online at www.youngliving.com.  To order you must become a member, which requires the number of a sponsor/enroller. Please feel free to use my number #303970.

Leave a Reply

